SHA LogoMaryland department of Transportation State highway Administration
Search In go
Maryland's Adult Seat Belt Law

Maryland's law covers those motor vehicles registered in Maryland as Class A (passenger), Class E (truck), Class F (truck tractor), Class M (multipurpose), or Class P (passenger bus) vehicles and similar types of vehicles registered in other States; and that are required to be equipped with seat belts under federal motor vehicle safety standards.

The law covers the driver and the front seat passenger next to the door, if the passenger is at least 16 years of age. Maryland's law allows primary enforcement, i.e., police may stop a vehicle and issue citations to violators solely for violating the seat belt law. Both the driver and an adult passenger may receive tickets for not wearing seat belts.

For example, in the case where:

  • Neither the driver nor the adult front seat passenger next to the door are buckled up, each of them will receive a $25 citation.
  • The driver is buckled, but the adult passenger is not, only the passenger receives the $25 citation.
  • Neither the driver nor a child 15 years of age or younger are buckled up, the driver will receive a ticket for both. A $25.00 fine for his/her violation and a $48.00 fine because a child was unbuckled.*

Exempt from the mandatory seat belt use law are:

  • Those who have a written certificate from their doctor stating a medical reason for not using their seat belt.
  • Drivers and passengers of Class L (historical) motor vehicles.

* Children younger than 16 years of age in every seating position in all vehicles are covered by Maryland's Child Passengers Safety Law.

If you require additional information or need assistance please contact us at [email protected]

MDOT Home FAQ's Information Site Map Privacy Policy Contact Us Copyright & Disclaimers Help File Viewers