SHA LogoMaryland department of Transportation State highway Administration
Search In go
Maryland Bicycle and Pedestrain Advisory Committee (MBPAC) Page 1

The Maryland Bicycle Advisory Committee was established, by Legislation, in 1991. The mission was to make Maryland the best recognized bicycle friendly and safe place in America. To do this the committee promotes cycling as a fully accepted form of transportation and recreation, facilitates cycling safety and education, advocates for bicycle facilities, advises state agencies on cycling issues and local cycling organizations.


Membership on the committee reflects the geographic, economic and public interests associated with bicycling and walking in Maryland. Twenty-one members are appointed by the Governor. Seven of the members represent the five geographic regions of the state: Western Maryland, Southern Maryland, the Eastern Shore, the Baltimore metropolitan region and the Washington metropolitan region. Eight members represent state government departments and agencies. The remaining six members are citizens, including one person who is visually impaired and one person who is mobility impaired. The committee advises State government on funding bicycle and pedestrian safety related programs, public education and other bicycle and pedestrian issues.

Washington Metropolitan Region
William Kelly
5206 Paducah Road
College Park MD
[email protected]
term expires 2003

Otis Hayward
4009 30th Street
Mount Rainier MD 20712
[email protected]
term expires in 2004

Baltimore Metropolitan Region
Robert Moore
216 Longwood Road
Baltimore MD 21210
term expires 2003

Southern Maryland
Bill Siwak
366 Kingsberry Drive
Annapolis MD 21401
[email protected]
term expires 2006

Eastern Shore
Gains Hawkins
4340 Sturbridge Drive
Salisbury MD 21804
[email protected]
term expires 2005

Go to Page 2

MDOT Home FAQ's Information Site Map Privacy Policy Contact Us Copyright & Disclaimers Help File Viewers