SHA logo

invisible graphicSpotlight SHA

All About

Programs & Regulations

On the Road

Driving It

Doing Business

& Events

& Feedback

Employment Opportunities


Maps & Brochures

  programs and regulations graphic

bracket graphic Programs & Regulations

Outdoor Advertising Rules and Regulations

What Do I have to do to put up a Sign?
Before you erect or post a sign adjacent to a State highway, you need to contact the Maryland State Highway Administration – Outdoor Advertising Representative, at one of our District offices listed on the back of this pamphlet. This includes not just billboards, but yard sale, political, real estate, and other types of advertising signs.

Can I put my sign on the highway Right-of-Way or State property?
NO! State property is reserved for official traffic control signs or devices. Other signs could be distracting to motorists and considered a safety hazard.

Why do I have to get a permit?
State and Federal laws require permits so we can keep track of the number, use, location, spacing, and maintenance of signs. This also helps us ensure signs are properly maintained, removed when they have served their purpose, do not clutter our roadsides, and do not create a safety hazard.

Can I put up a sign on my own property, without a SHA permit?
YES, but you must still meet certain conditions!

  • The sign must only advertise activities or products available on the property. Signs advertising property for sale or lease, must be located on the site advertised.
  • The sign must be within 100 feet of the business activity ( such as the edge of building or parking lot )
  • Off-premise signs (advertising something not sold on the property where the sign is located) requires a SHA sign permit and must meet other requirements related to size, lighting, zoning, and spacing.

Do I also need a permit from the county, town or city?
Counties, towns and cities have their own sign regulations. You may need to get a permit from the locality, as well as from SHA. Please check your phone book for the telephone number of your local government offices.

Where can I get an SHA sign permit application?
You can obtain an application from any office on the back of this pamphlet.

How much do SHA sign permits cost?
Permits are based on the size of the sign and can range from $10 to $35 per advertising face. All sign permits must be renewed annually and are due on April 30th each year.Out of State applicants must also obtain a $1,000.00 Surety Bond.

How long does it take to get a SHA sign permit?
Permit applications require the signature of the applicant, property owner, and local zoning board. You must also include a detailed site plan showing property lines, set backs from the right-of-way, location of the sign on the property, State Route No. and intersecting road, and distances from other sign(s) on the property. Once you have completed these requirements, you can usually get your permit in about 2 weeks. Responsibility for securing these approvals, rest with the applicant.



mdot graphicsha home graphiccontact sha graphicsitemap graphicfaq graphic
Maryland Department of Transportation Home
SHA Home seperator graphic Contact SHA seperator graphic Sitemap seperator graphic FAQ